Dyslexic people just don’t get offered jobs?

Dyslexic people just don’t get offered jobs? True or fasle…. you tell me!
Every time I’ve talked about head injury, epilepsy or dyslexia I’ve never been offered work.

But there are very successful people I hear about, out there, that do have dyslexia and are very successful.

Theo Paphitis (from Dragon’s Den)
Orlando Bloom
Tom Cruise
Danny Glover
Leonardo Da Vinci
Cher
Muhammad Ali
are just a few I’ve heard of but if you are interested in a larger list try the link below:

http://www.dyslexia.com/famous.htm

and as my friend said Orlando Bloom you say…? here’s his link:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/06/09/dyslexias-special-club-
ac_n_602380.html

2 thoughts on “Dyslexic people just don’t get offered jobs?

  1. Thanks for your input Pete, very much appreciated. I think more and more people need to hear about dyslexia and how many levels of it there can be. When ever you say you have dyslexia, theres a number of people who put two and two together and have come up with twelve.
    I have expressive dysphasia and receptive dysphasia, and I can read/ and write (just not very fast)!
    When I had head injury I couldn’t read or write, it took time to heal and the return of some of my abilities.
    Now I have a problem saying the write word, and interpreting words some times.

    Dyslexia doesn’t mean you are dyslexic.

  2. Employers can be conservative, but if they discriminate, they will be missing out on some very talented people. Some of the cleverest people I have worked with, or for, have been dyslexic. It can indicate non-standard thinking, or in other words “thinking outside the box”. Someone who sees problems in a different way is likely to spot solutions that would have otherwise been missed. In assembling a team, I would always recommend diversity. Dyslexia should not be a barrier and employers who make it one are, shall we say, “uninspired”. (Insert your own preferred word if you like!)

Leave a comment